View Full Version : ARE YOU AWARE? | MANY MEDICINES INCLUDE [ Ingredients ] WHICH ARE HARAAM ! حرام
18-04-2012, 09:36 PM
Are You Aware? | Many Medicines Include Ingredients Which Are Haraam ! حرام
19-04-2012, 09:04 AM
You should make it clear that MEDICINE is NEVER haraam with the exception of there being an ALTERNATIVE. At least the poster actually mentions that there are alternatives which are not 'haraam', which is the best thing to mention.
If the alternative is unavailable, TAKE the medicine available no matter what haraam ingredients are in it.
The Fake Shaykh
19-04-2012, 10:42 AM
Even if there are no alternatives available, the capsules can still be opened up, and the powder inside can be taken out, so at the least you could still have medicine but without the capsule.
Using Unlawful (haram) Medication : Answered by Shaykh Mufti Muhammad ibn Adam, Darul Iftaa, Leicester, UK
19-04-2012, 09:20 PM
I Remember I Was On Some Medication With Capsules For A Short Period Of Time. But I Remember Getting Empty Capsules From The Chemist And Emtying The Powder From The Orginal In The New One As I Was Told At The Time To Do That.
19-04-2012, 09:54 PM
This also depends on what country you're in or which country you get your medication from. For example, if you get your medicines from Pakistan, they are most likely manufactured in Pakistan and thus are halal.
Also, even tablets by default can be considered haraam due to the presence of magnesium stearate - which can be sourced from animals. Tylenol, for example, is not halaal so we should find alternatives, which may even be cheaper. I stock up on Panadol whenever I go to Pakistan or if I know someone is coming from Pakistan. Panadol (paracetamol) is the same drug as Tylenol (acetaminophen).
It is impossible to get effective alternatives for some medicines. For example, heparin is usually sourced from pigs (sometimes cows) but there isn't any effective alternative or an alternative that is as safe as heparin. Synthetic heparin is still a ways off from being available.
21-04-2012, 10:01 AM
many drugs containing gelatin have the quivalent through the Lyoc form (Orally Disintegrating Tablets).
And by the way Mufti Husain once advised Solgar products which do not contain gelatine.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.