Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Qasid Institute, Amman, Jordan

Madhhab
    Maliki

Default Qasid Institute, Amman, Jordan

as-salamu `alaykum

would appreciate info on qasid institute, preferably from people who have been there to study, or are about to.(i have already seen the website)

specifically the following information:

1. costs of courses

2. costs of living (family and single)

3. experiences

Madhhab
    Hanafi

I heard that Qasid is in Kharabsheh in Amman, not far from Shaykh Nuh Keller's zawiya. I think Shaykh Faraz Rabbani lives in that area too.

Madhhab
    Hanafi

As salaamu alaykum

Qasid is within the village of Kharabsheh and is run, from what I understood, under the guidance of Shaykh Nuh and his students.

Was salaam

Madhhab
    Hanafi

Does anyone know if the classes are mixed-sex or not?

Madhhab
    Hanafi

Assalamu alaikum,

I studied at Qasid for about 11 months, so here is some information that may be of benefit to anyone interested in it.

Students of Sheikh Nuh set up Qasid and they run it. Actually, it was originally set up for students of the Sheikh who were in the neighborhood and needed to learn Arabic. Sheikh Nuh tells all of his students to learn Arabic, no matter how long it takes, so one of his closest students worked on setting up Qasid. As it gained popularity, it became much more than just a tariqa thing though. Anyway, Sheikh Nuh has no say in the operation of the school. He praises it for its high quality instruction, but it is not his school by any means. Iíve heard people criticize the school, specifically because of the gender mixing issue, and say stuff like, ďWhatís up with Sheikh Nuh? I thought he was supposed to be strict.Ē Well, the school is not Sheikh Nuhís. So if you have a problem with it, donít attribute any of the problems to him, because he doesnít run it.