In response to a user on our forum who posted an article about how Wrigley products are haram - I decided to write to them and recieved the following reply:
PR@wrigley.com | Block Address | Add to Contacts
Date: 26 May 2006, 09:00:14 PM
Subject: Re: In Response to your Website Comments - Ref # 000159856A
Thank you for contacting us about animal ingredients and our products.
To answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the
U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy
products. At present, the only chewing gum exceptions are Extra® Polar Ice
stick gum and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.
Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint contain tiny flavor beads encased
in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We have requested the
development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being worked on by
our supplier. Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use shellac as a
The different varieties of our ALTOIDS mints do contain very small quantities
of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to
ALTOIDS, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mint. When we
use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing
process. Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin,
but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the
same quality you've come to love with ALTOIDS.
Our LifeSaver gummies do contain small quantities of gelatin, which is also
derived from pork. It follows the same drying and purifying process as with the
If your diet does not allow you to consume animal byproducts such as dairy, our
CremeSaver line does contain cream, which is a dairy byproduct. On the same
note, our LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver gummies are produced on the same line
as our CremeSavers, so there is a chance of cross contamination. Our CremeSaver
soft chews also contain a small amount of gelatin, which is pork based.
We hope this information has been helpful and thanks again for contacting the
Consumer Affairs Representative
Therefore according to the info above the following products of theirs are Haram:
Extra® Polar Ice Stick Gum
Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.
Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint
Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums
Our LifeSaver gummies
LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver
The remaining are halal
HARAM PRODUCTS BY WRIGLEYS
HALAL PRODUCTS BY WRIGLEYS
Insha'Allah please spread this around as well since this is FIRST HAND info from me and anyone can verify it by visiting the wrigleys website and using the "contact" form available there
Wrigleys website: Http://www.wrigley.com