Thread: Camel Meat

Madhhab
    Shafi'i

Arrow Camel Meat

as-Salaamu `alaykum

I have two questions.

We learned that Imam al-Nawawi (rahimahullaah) believed camel meat did nullify one's wudu' but that Imam al-Shafi`i (rahimahullaah) did not. Is this correct?

I know the proof for those who say that it does break the wudu', such as the hadeeth of Jaabir (radiyallaahu `anh) that the Prophet (sallallaahu `alayhi wa sallam) was asked,

“Should I do wudu' after eating camel meat?” He said, “Yes.” The person said: “Should I do wudu' after eating mutton?” He said, “If you wish.” [Muslim]

and the hadeeth of al-Baraa'. My second question is if this was the opinion of Imam al-Shafi`i (rahimahullaah) then what was his argument (or the argument of those who say it doesn't period)?

I don't recall this from my lectures or even my notes. I am not a great researcher either because I don't speak/understand `arabee and I am still pretty new to this research stuff to be honest.

Jazaakum Allaahu khairan

Madhhab
    Maliki

Assalamu 'alaykum. The evidence used by ash-Shafi'i, Malik, Abu Hanifah and the majority of scholars that camel meat does not break wudhu' is the ahadith stating: "The final example of the Prophet [sallallahu 'alayhi wa-sallam] was to not make wudhu' from anything touched by fire." Also, the example of the khulafa' ar-rashidin who did not act upon the camel meat hadith. Therefore, according to the majority of 'ulama the camel meat hadith is "mansukh" [abrogated].

There are many ahadith that indicate that in the beginning of Islam, wudhu' was obligatory if one ate any food cooked by fire. Then [according to the saying of the jumhur] that was abrogated, with the exception of camel meat. Then, before the Prophet [sallallahu 'alayhi wa-sallam] died, all of that was abrogated, camel meat as well as non-camel meat.

Anyway, this is more or less the reasoning behind the view of the majority, and has been explained in various detailed books about this.