Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is whey powder halal?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    Sister
    Madhhab
    Hanafi
    Posts
    2

    Default Is whey powder halal?

    Asslam o Alaikum

    Im trying to find out about WHEY POWDER is it halal, or when it is written like WHEY POWDER (contains milk) than wat is it status, its halal or not.


  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Gender
    Brother
    Madhhab
    Hanafi
    Location
    DEWSBURY
    Posts
    4,321

    Default Re: mms

    whey is from milk

    or the watery part of yoghurt
    The reason for all trouble on earth, is that people have lost sight of their Lordís Will behind all events. They have lost sight of the hand of the One Who is testing them through those events. They have stopped seeing events as tests from their Lord. Therefore they continue failing those tests. "


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    Sister
    Madhhab
    Hanafi
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: mms

    thanks for ur reply , i know this much that it is from milk but im confused some people said its haram because of RENNAT and some of them said itrs halal.

    so what is the right answer


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Gender
    Brother
    Madhhab
    Hanafi
    Location
    DEWSBURY
    Posts
    4,321

    Default Re: mms

    The enzyme most commonly used to make cheese is rennet, which comes from the stomach of calves. The rennet is Halal if the calf was slaughtered according to Islamic requirements. Whey prepared with microbial enzymes is Halal. Whey is used in processed foods such as crackers. Call the food manufacturer to determine the source of the whey.


    http://www.albalagh.net/halal/col4.shtml

    read the link
    The reason for all trouble on earth, is that people have lost sight of their Lordís Will behind all events. They have lost sight of the hand of the One Who is testing them through those events. They have stopped seeing events as tests from their Lord. Therefore they continue failing those tests. "


  5. #5
    Senior Member Ali al-Hanafi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Gender
    Brother
    Madhhab
    Hanafi
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,907

    Default Re: mms



    Whey is a product of the clotting of milk and rennet and is used to make cream, butter, cheese, drinks, etc.
    Rennet is extracted from animal stomach and is Halal (in the form of cheese, etc) even when extracted from an animal that has not been slaughtered Islamically according to Hazrat Imam Abu Hanifah (rahmatullahialay) but it is better to abstain from it and whey carries the same ruling. (Muslim Food Guide, page 10, year 2000)
    "Whoever acts upon what he knows, Almighty Allah bestows upon him
    the knowledge of things not known to him"
    (Fazaa'il-e-A'maal, Virtues of the Holy Qur'an, Part 1, under Hadith 8)


  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    Brother
    Madhhab
    Hanafi
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Is whey powder halal?

    are you trying to use it for working out? like as in Whey protein powder.. apparently they do have a protein powder from rice, peas and soy i do believe. may want to look into that.


  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Gender
    Brother
    Madhhab
    Hanafi
    Posts
    489

    Default Re: Is whey powder halal?

    Whey is the portion of the milk remaining after coagulation and removal of curd. There are two types of whey:

    Sweet Whey: it is obtained during making of rennet type hard cheese such as Mozzarella, cheddar, swiss cheese, it is watery substance left after removing curd to make cheese.

    Acid Whey: Acid whey is the watery substance obtained during the making of acid cheese such as cottage cheese.

    The whey is Halal only when it is certified Halal or Kosher. The starter bacteria, media on which starter cultures grows and rennet used in hard cheese has to be Halal. Majority of whey used in food products is sweet whey.

    Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Muslim Consumer Group


Similar Threads

  1. Alcohol & Whey again
    By Colonel_Hardstone in forum General Islam
    Replies: 98
    Last Post: 25-09-2009, 08:35 PM
  2. Is whey protein powder halaal?
    By Mohammed7072 in forum General Islam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 11:37 AM
  3. Are Soya Lecithin (Emulsifier) & whey powder halal?
    By mhasanbaig in forum General Islam
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 31-08-2008, 10:50 AM
  4. ANSWERED: malikis and whey and rennet
    By Kareem in forum Islam Answers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 22-12-2005, 08:24 PM
  5. ANSWERED: Demineralised Whey Powder..Snickers Ice Cream
    By islamonline in forum Islam Answers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22-06-2005, 08:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •