Is dunkin donuts halal or haram
Is dunkin donuts halal or haram
Allah gives and forgives... Man gets and forgets
DUNKIN DONUTS IS NOW USING L-CYSTEINE FROM CHICKEN/DUCK FEATHERES IN THEIR CAKE DONUTS AND BAGELS
Dunkin Donuts has changed the source of L-cysteine from human hair to Chicken/duck feathers in their cake Donuts and bagels.
One of the Islamic Scholars told MCG that he does not consider L-Cysteine as a Halal ingredient from chicken/duck feathers if those birds were not slaughtered according to Islamic sharia. Since L-Cysteine is mostly manufactured in China and Japan, which are not Muslim countries, We are in agreement with the Islamic Scholar and will not accept L-Cysteine from chicken/duck feathers manufactured in China and Japan as a Halal ingredient.
Beside there is a Halal certified L-Cysteine available in USA and Canada. This Halal L-Cysteine is supplied by Ajinomoto USA and Halal certified by Majelis Ulema of Indonesia and it is made from synthetic material. Many food companies are using it.
We are not going to change the NOT HALAL status of Dunkin Donuts’ cake donuts (only) and their Bagels.
We request Muslims to call Dunkin Donuts Inc.(1-800-859-5339) and ask them to change the source of L-Cysteine from chicken/duck feathers to Halal synthetic materials.
Haha I thought you meant whether dunking your doughnut (in a liquid of some sort) was Halal!
What on earth are Dunkin' Doughnuts?
‘Good and evil can never be equal. Repel (evil) with that which is better, and see how, then, someone between whom and you was enmity shall become a true friend. Yet none is given such goodness except those who are patient; none is given this but the most fortunate.’
(al-Fussilat 41: 34-5)
its a franchise that sells donuts and coffee and stuff like that
----------------------Im Allah's stranger trying to walk in the way of paradise------------------------
Last edited by PureInnocence786; 13-07-2005 at 12:50 AM.
I believe in Islam like i believe in the sun rising, not because i can see it but because by it, i can see everything else.
L-cysteine from duck or chicken feathers is pure and Halaal even if they are from non-dhabeehah animals.
any other haram dunkin donuts things or is the whole thing legit
If L-cysteine is the only animal derived ingredient then it would be permissible.
Bear in mind that the info on that page is quite old, and they might have changed their sources since then. And also there is no guarantee that they will only use L - cysteine from feathers, if they fall short, they might fall back on human hair sources.
Best thing is if you contact the company and ask them what is the source of their L-cysteine in their food, and ask them if they can guarantee it (i.e. it does not change depending on circumstances).
You might also want to contact the brother who runs that page and ask him if there are any updates about the company, and ask him about the other products of the company.
Obviously it seems like there is a difference of opinion between the Ulema whether we can use feathers from an animal not slaughtered in the halal way.
We do not have tahqeeq on Dunkin' donuts per se but just to help you decide:
l-cysteine from chicken, feathers (poultry) are Halaal and Haraam if sourced from human hairs.
Based on what I recall being told by Dunkin Donuts reps, there's no problem with their donuts.
Allah knows best.