Coca Cola doesn’t contain Alcohol nor is fermentation used in the process so it isn’t Haram. However, it isn’t healthy so should be avoided as much as possible on health grounds : -)
Every few years rumours start within the Muslim community about the presence of Alcohol or Pigs blood or some other “Haram” ingredient and then juicy gossip and discussions start within the Muslim circles.
We (as Muslims) are supposed to follow the Qur’aan & Sunnah in evaluating and Authenticating news BEFORE spreading it further as clearly stated in the Qur’aan:
[49:6] O you who believe, if a sinful person brings you a report, verify its correctness, lest you should harm a people out of ignorance, and then become remorseful on what you did.
Muslims vs Non-Muslim way of dealing with news: You will find that most Muslims have no idea who broke the news, are unable to research the primary source, at best they quote the secondary or even tertiary source in their text messages or email OR sometimes none at all!
In other words the Qur’aanic injunction of “verifying the Authenticity of news” is ignored to get some cheap laughs and giggles!
Origins of Coca-Cola Alcohol Issue:
The story of Coca cola containing Alcohol first appeared on page 2B on February the 18th, 1979, in "Atlanta Journal-Constitution" in an article received little attention at the time. They also published a photograph of hand-written copy of John Pemberton's original recipe.
This newspaper is still in print and they admitted that they broke the news in 1979!
American Life picks up the 1979 story in 2011: American Life picked up the story on the 2nd of February 2011 and here is the print in which they admit to the 1979 story and acknowledge the original source:
Something for a Muslim to think about? Yes, that they should investigate matters before spreading them...Also consider:
- The authenticity of the photograph is still dubious, consider the following points:
- Document expert John Reznikoff, who came into possession of some materials which—if authentic—would change history.
- Even if proven “Authentic” this would be the “original recipe” and not what is used today
Confirmed statement: Fortunately, Islam doesn’t rely on sensationalism rather than cold hard facts and here they are from Coca-Cola:
In the manufacture of Coca-Cola, alcohol is not added as an ingredient and no fermentation takes place.
- Gc instrument did not detect alcohol in coca-cola, pepsi & 7 up