Principally, if the alcohol is extracted from grapes or dates it is not permissible. Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Álayhi Wasallam) said, "Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes." (Mishkãt p. 317).
Furthermore, Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Álayhi Wasallam) said, 'Alcohol itself is prohibited and intoxication in every other beverage.' (Hidaaya vol. 4 p.497).
However, if the alcohol in foods is not from dates or grape extract but from, for example, ethanol which is fermented from sugar cane molasses and does not intoxicate, then it is permissible.
and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
Mufti Ebrahim Desai